Project Skinny Summer – Back To The Gym

For Project Skinny Summer I am aiming to work out 5 times a week. This week I attended a concert in Glasgow (which ended up being canceled!) so I missed my usual Tuesday night Strength and Conditioning class. To make up for this workout I went back to the gym for the first time in 8 months.

I am a member of Xercise4Less in Edinburgh mostly due to how cheap membership is – £12 a month. I sporadically attended the gym last year and would follow a workout plan called “Get Trim”. This fitness planned is offered by Xercise4Less and is designed to help you lose weight. I used to follow this plan as best as I could but some of the exercises were too difficult for me. Well not anymore!

19832568_10155517529479605_1438060212_n

You can see in the picture above all of the exercises and a rating from 1-10. 1 means that they were super easy and 10 means I managed it but it almost killed me. Things like Ab Crunches and Leg Raises I do regularly as part of my pole dancing and so I found these a lot easier than I used to. What also helps is that I am comfortable with these exercises and don’t feel self conscious or that I might be doing them wrong. The hardest part of the gym isn’t the physicality of it. It’s the fear of people judging you! I seem to be over that for the most part.

Planks and Push Ups I found extremely difficult but I’m still counting them as wins as I couldn’t even hold a plank for thirty seconds until now.  My push ups are still little half push ups on my knees but they are better than nothing.

I might up the weight on the lateral pull down machine for next time as I found those relatively easy.

Another surprisingly difficult part of the work out is how boring the twenty minutes of cardio at the end is. I ended up doing five minutes on the rowing machine as this at least works my arms. The rest I split between the bike and treadmill. The fact that I can run a full five minutes as if it is nothing is insane to me because before I would literally run then walk in 10 second intervals whilst my heart pounded through my chest.

19858801_10155517528719605_1183770915_n

So all in all my visit to the gym was positive. It made me realise how far I’ve come in terms of my fitness in the last year and I think I actually enjoyed it. That’s right. I enjoyed my time at the gym.

Who even am I anymore?

One thought on “Project Skinny Summer – Back To The Gym

Leave a Reply

